home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:49 pm

I'm not even going to click on the video based on how atrocious that looks.

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:49 pm

Man, **** you new page. I've caught the @meow.

tifosi77
Posts: 40037
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:07 pm
Location: Home
Contact:

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby tifosi77 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:09 pm

I stand with NTP on this one. Not even clicking through on that video based on my own personal judgment of what a dope the owner of that setup must be simply based on the thumbnail.

We've taken to watching real estate video tours of super duper high-end homes in the LA area as a sort of vicarious outlet. We're talking mansions here, with a floor of around $4 million all the way up to 9-figures. Some of these homes are righteously bonkers, some of them are more traditionally bonkers. Nearly all of them have dedicated home theater spaces. And I feel a weird level of aggro when we get to one that's, say, a $40 million estate in Calabasas that's got a home theater with a front projector that's hanging down from the ceiling. Not recessed, not hidden in flush mount motorized drop cabinet. Just "hey, here's a big white box hanging down into the room that the developer probably spent a quarter million dollars to build".

It is such a stupid pet peeve of mine, one that I am in no way ever going to be in a position to actually engage with for real. It's just so silly. :lol:

eddy
Posts: 18491
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:49 am
Location: Emmet's barn loft

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby eddy » Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:34 pm

Absolutely ridiculous

eddy
Posts: 18491
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:49 am
Location: Emmet's barn loft

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby eddy » Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:35 pm

Need some help with this twitch thing. I've got the video to work on my Amazon video screen box thing, but can you watch videos on twitch through Android tv or Amazon prime app or is my best bet to cast it to the tv via my phone?

Beveridge
Posts: 3302
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:17 pm
Location: Punxsutawney

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby Beveridge » Wed Feb 24, 2021 2:37 pm

Twitch has it's own app on FireTV if you have one of those. This was a while ago.

Shyster
Posts: 7963
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:08 pm
Location: Nullius in verba

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby Shyster » Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:15 pm

This guy clearly woke up one day and thought, "I want to spend tens of thousands of dollars on multiple stadium-grade speaker setups so that I can sit five feet away from them in my tiny-ass rooms." :lol:

eddy
Posts: 18491
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:49 am
Location: Emmet's barn loft

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby eddy » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:42 pm

I have a 5GB .MKV video of last nights concert that I want to watch. What's the best way to do this? Can I upload that to my YouTube account? Jump drive in a Roku?

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:44 pm

USB stick connected to your smart TV (if you have the option). Not sure if a Roku can play files on them.

eddy
Posts: 18491
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:49 am
Location: Emmet's barn loft

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby eddy » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:46 pm

:thumb:

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:16 pm

so my router decided today to just not transmit a wifi signal.. my xbox is hardwired and has a connection so it's not a spectrum issue or anything. just no wifi signal in my house. any suggestions or is this thing just shot?

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:26 pm

Assuming that you've already rebooted the router, do the logs say anything at all? If you're going to look at a new router, here are my usual recommendations:


tifosi77
Posts: 40037
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:07 pm
Location: Home
Contact:

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby tifosi77 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:30 pm

Is the device turned on?

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:31 pm

:lol:

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:34 pm

Is the device turned on?
yes, the wifi light is even lit up.


the logs? plz elaborate ntp

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:35 pm

Login to the router and there should be a system log somewhere. If you can filter on errors, maybe you'll see something in there that you can fix or at least report back here on. If you can confirm that wireless is enabled in the router's config, but you still don't see it broadcasting, it may help narrow things down (hardware would be my first guess).

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:37 pm

I did not learn this studying for the CPA exam but I will login and see what I can find. The things 2.5 years old so while not ancient it wouldn't surprise me if it was time

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:37 pm

What model router is it?

tifosi77
Posts: 40037
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:07 pm
Location: Home
Contact:

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby tifosi77 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:37 pm

was not srs Q lol :lol:

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:42 pm

I know lol.

Arris surfboard SBG6700-AC. I can handle logging into it, I'll see what's up

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:45 pm

Ohh, you have a combo cable modem + router. How fast is your internet package? You'd need a separate cable modem if you went with one of those ASUS units. If you wanted to stick with a combo, Arris is good stuff, and I can recommend one based on your network speed requirement.

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:51 pm

I get 200mbps download with Spectrum. It's not fios but I am single and it's enough for one person.. I'm not married to the combo but it's just seemed the easiest

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:52 pm

i'll just write it off

willeyeam
Posts: 24346
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:49 pm
Location: Sticky Boy

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby willeyeam » Fri Feb 26, 2021 2:10 pm

got a few of these: 3) No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

couple of these with different channels: WiFi Interface [wl1] set to Channel 149 (Side-Band Channel:N/A) - Reason:INIT

couple similar to this one: No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging opportunities received - T2 time-out and this one SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing with some addresses at the end that I'll omit ;)

NTP66
Posts: 38313
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: FUCΚ! Even in the future nothing works.

home theater, cord cutting, video streaming, a/v tech, and more!

Postby NTP66 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:39 pm

Those messages are generally related to your actual cable network, and the wifi one doesn't seem like an issue. It's just setting channel 149 as the wireless channel and initializing it. Is this a Spectrum owned modem? I'd give them a call first. If you do wind up needing or wanting new hardware, you have two options:

All in one (that supports 400Mbps - your current device only actually supports 100Mbps according to Spectrum):


Something like this paired with a wireless router (see previous post):

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cagsjr724, Dickie Dunn, King Colby, shoeshine boy, skullman80 and 24 guests